Training Recap: February 12 – February 18, 2012 Recovery Week

Dates: Sunday, 2/12/2012 – Saturday, 2/18/2012

Ah… recovery week after a fantastic half marathon on Hilton Head Island… After a really awesome training week and a great half, I had to take the time to recover without loosing everything I worked for the previous month. That’s pretty tough to do – hope it works! Here’s what I did this week…

Total Running Mileage/Time/Pace:

  • Total Miles:  13.88
  • Total Time:  5:45:10
  • Overall average pace for the week: 9:10
  • Total running activities:  3
  • Average Duration per activity:  42:27

Running Days:

  • Tuesday: had a group run with a couple of guys from work for my first post-pikermi run – good, but I was slooowwwww… I needed to be, so I was the one begging to go slow this time 🙂
  • Thursday: Tried another run, slower this time, after a day off – not much better. I was just flat out tired. This one was ugly, but I was happy I went.
  • Friday: wanted to try for a longer run this weekend, but my one of my co-worker run buddies mentioned he’d be running 7, so I asked if I could tag along. I actually felt great the vast majority of the run – and afterward. We held the pace at around 9:15, which is hard for us to do (especially him – he’s much faster). I was super delighted!

Cross Training Activities:

  • Monday: Spin for 1 hour

Days of rest:

  • Sunday: no reason other than I was tired and I had the boys back so I thought I should spend the day with them
  • Wednesday: sore from the run the day before so I thought I should get some rest

Goals for the upcoming week:

  1. Stretching/Rolling in advance of the half marathon
  2. At least one swim – ha! already done… more about that next week.
  3. Yoga/Core: at least one yoga session and some core work, including some planks for over 60 sec… let’s say 75, to put a number on it.
  4. At least 17 miles this week – work my way back to 25-30

Here’s to catching up for this week… hope you are having a great week training!

Leave a Reply

