I Love (to hate) Treadmills

Happy Sunday, My Friends!

A new training week has started and I am officially 2 weeks out from my next half marathon, the Wipro San Fransisco Half Marathon #1 and I’m starting to get excited about it. Now that I’m cutting back – and eventually cutting out entirely – most of the gluten in my life, I’m finally starting to feel a little better and my runs – few that they were, felt better… except for one thing: they were almost all on a treadmill.

The only exception was one 3-miler I did through the sprinklers at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, TX because they were going to charge me $25 to use a treadmill for a couple of days. So, I ran on a track they built onsite that was about .20 mile loop and, because 6:30 AM must have been watering time, they had the sprinklers on – so I ran through those, too. I was sopping wet by the end, as though I had run through a rain storm, and I felt like a flaming idiot lapping people who were on their morning constitution, but I didn’t care. At least I didn’t pay for a treadmill run. Neverthless, I was short my distance goal for the week by just under 5 miles. ah, well.

As I alluded in last week’s post, almost all of my miles in July have been on a treadmill due to the excessive heat in Central North Carolina. Although the heat has subsided a little, the humidity that was absent during the excessive heat has returned. Ah, well.  If you have read this blog for any period of time, you may recall that I may have mentioned a time or two (or ten thousand) that I hate running on treadmills. They do have their purpose, and since I’m training for a half marathon that I expect to be at the very least comfortable, if not downright cold, I feel like I don’t need to suffer in the heat and not complete my training runs. I’d rather get the interval/speed work in on the treadmill and, if I really have to, the longs so I have the mileage under my belt.

My friends – I did that today. A long.  On a treadmill.

The awesome (and sucky) thing about it is that it was 14.77 miles, which is a distance PR for me. In fact, I broke my previous distance PR by almost half a mile, which at that distance for me is kind of a big deal. Sometimes, my inability to accurately complete math problems at the end of a long run swings to my benefit. ’bout time. My legs are still pretty stiff, the tenderness in my lower back and abs are constant reminders of the core work I’m not doing enough of and I was so sopping wet I looked like I had run through the sprinklers again – because of that, I ended up so dehydrated I sucked down a 32 ounce Powerade I bought on my way out of the gym in the span of about 5 minutes. 64 ounces of fluids later, I’m still not completely caught up. All the physical stuff aside, I do feel great and I am proud of my achievement today.

…even if it was on a treadmill….

This upcoming week should be full of last minute mid-distance runs (4-7 miles) and one last longer-ish attempt (10 miles) followed by a week of tapering in preparation for the race. And, maybe I’ll add some more of that core work I clearly need to the to-do list.

Hope you all have a great week!

Leave a Reply

