Master

My friends… I’ve struggled to find a good title for this post. This was the best I could come up with – you should have seen the others – haha.

Next week, I move up to the Masters age group. I’ve dreaded this day for about a year and a half, but now that it is so close, I’m not dreading it quite as much.

I discussed this with a much younger friend of mine recently – he just turned 32 in December. He paid me quite a compliment by guessing I was also turning 32 (I told him I loved him for that) and we discussed feelings about getting older. I think I dreaded it more 18 months ago because I was afraid I was going to be weaker, slower. I was worried I would have given up on my goal. I was worried I wouldn’t be running any more. I was worried – for some reason – that this birthday automatically meant the end of what I enjoyed.

While there are never any guarantees about anything, I am currently feeling the strongest I have ever felt, even when I was in my 20s. Maybe that takes the sting off of “masters”.

My next race is 2 weeks after my birthday: the Mercedes Half Marathon in Birmingham, AL, and I’m really looking forward to it – even though it will be my first Masters race, I’m feeling good about it.

Ask me again next Friday….

As for this week, though – the runs were good. Nothing remarkable – one way or the other – just there. But, I was able to do them, and, considering some things I learned this week, that is very meaningful.

Have a good night – rest and recover well, my friends.

2 thoughts on “Master

  1. Age is just a number. What matters is giving every race everything you have. You’ll never finish slowly if you’re going as hard as you can.

    Good luck in Birmingham! I ran it last year and PR’d – enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

