Coffee… and Training – Marathon Training 1: Week 5 Recap

Happy Sunday, my friends!

This week, you’re getting a two-fer… Week 4 AND Week 5! Now… if I can only catch up on race reports… No missed runs this week, though, I did have to cut one short and, because of sunburn (damn it being Irish sometimes….) I had to skip some of the strength this week, but I’m still feeling good about most of this week’s work, though, I’m a little annoyed I didn’t break 30 miles this week – 29.2. Here’s how Week 5 went

  • Sunday: took my boys to the beach for a day trip with my dad, his girlfriend and my nephew. I spent the whole day in the surf corralling boys to keep them out of the deeper part of the water and ended up boogy boarding at some point. So much for a “restful” day. Came home with half of the sand in NC in my car, sunburn, and sore legs. Tomorrow should be interesting…
  • Monday: slow 5 plus 5×30 second intervals with 4×2:00 rests at the ‘slow’ pace – I wasn’t sure what to expect from this workout considering the sunburn and that I couldn’t find my aloe the night before. I was sore, too – I was up to my knees (a little above that) in the surf and because of the way the shelf is on that beach, the waves hit pretty hard in the spot we were in so standing in it for 4 hours made my legs very sore. I threw in a movie (though I don’t remember which one now) and started off. The 5 miler went well – no complaints – and I actually felt OK at the end of it, so I thought I’d try my :30 intervals at around a 7:30 pace. It worked. I did all 5 at that pace and I guess my rests were just fast enough that I ended up with a 7:59 for the 6.27 miles, beating my current 10k PR from the City of Oaks 10k from 2012. Wow.
  • Tuesday: tried my usual core routine, but the sunburn made it difficult to do any of it, so I did what I could (twist and grabs, crunches) that did not involve my lower back hitting the ground and called it a day.
  • Wednesday: 2/3×1.5/1 intervals – still on a high from the awesome Monday run, I figured this one would be easier than it was. I was *so* not ready for this one. the warm up was probably too fast (around 8:40); the intervals were probably too fast (7:54) and my rests were probably too fast (around warm up); I walked a lot and I couldn’t even finish the 2nd one. I was a mess. I put in a documentary, too, which was awful. That probably didn’t help. Ended up cutting it short and had just under 5 miles when I should have been closer to 8.
  • Thursday: total rest day.
  • Friday: easy 5 that I made more difficult by running too fast at the start (are you seeing a pattern here?), I got it done, but I had a walk break for a 5 miler, which I haven’t done on a 5-miler in a very long time.
  • Saturday: Long steady 13 with a target speed of 8:35 to 9:10 – I had to run this on my treadmill because I had my boys, so I queued up a movie on the AFI 100 Years 100 Movies List (I’m trying to kill two birds with one stone here – if only I could do that with my blogs…) “The Apartment” – I’d seen it before, but it has been years and I forgot some parts of it – I do remember being surprised at the subject of it.  I had a mental block around mile 7 and came very close to quitting. I talked myself out of it by saying “first, you won’t be able to finish the movie… and you had to rent that one; second, you *already* cut one run short this week – how’s that gonna look to cut two short… and third: you are *never* going to make it to 26 if you wimp out at 7 this early in training… the runs are just going to get tougher. You need to hang in there and fourth: you will never get a BQ time by cutting short”. I was right. On all counts. So, I sucked it up, got back on the treadmill and finished my run. Yes, I did have 2 walk breaks. Yes, I had to slow down, but I did finish it and I had a pretty respectable 8:54 average, which was still in goal (technically in the middle of the goal pace) and faster than most of my half marathons to date. In the end, I’m actually very happy with that.

This upcoming week the plan calls for a step back week – already:

  • Monday: 5+ – same 5 mile slow base, followed by 4x:30 intervals and 4×2:00 “slow” after the 5. I plan to do this one in the same neighborhood route I usually do, so I expect it to be significantly slower than last week.
  • Tuesday: non-run day – planning to do the same weight training I did two Tuesdays ago, hoping for a couple more push ups and maybe a little more time on the planks, though.
  • Wednesday: 7 miles slow – This one should be outside.
  • Thursday: non-run day – planning to do the same weight training I am planning for Tuesday, hopefully, I won’t be too burned out or sore. If I am, I’ll rest.
  • Friday: easy 5 – this one should be outside
  • Saturday: Long Steady: 8 miles at a goal of 8:35-9:10. I’m planning to do this outside, too

That should do it! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

