2014 In Review – Q1

Hi Friends –

I know that title seems a little odd, but I work in finance and I think of everything in terms of Quarters and, traditionally, I’ve done reviews of my training on this blog. This year, though, I decided that I would chunk it and evaluate my goal progress only 4 times a year because I tend to have a difficult time keeping up with it more frequently than that. I’ve also been so focused on this marathon that I haven’t really given much thought to evaluating how I’m doing…. So, now that the dust has settled after the marathon, I thought I’d take a little time to reflect on how my training is going so I can keep track of my goals. Here is how 2014 is shaping up so far (1/1/14 through 3/31/14):

  • Total Mileage: 438.2 miles over 53 runs; That’s an average of just over 146 miles per month and 8.27 miles each run. Wow! Just a year ago, I was feeling pretty lucky to have 80 miles a month and this is 60% more than that – not to mention that I was averaging about 4 miles per run back then. It blows my mind.
  • Total Duration: just over 63 hours, averaging over an hour per run – and at some point, that hour I invested actually seemed like a “short” run. I’m hoping to get back to that in a couple of weeks after marathon recovery is over.
  • Average Pace: I know I worry about this a lot, but I have specific goals that hinge on this number, so I do pay attention to it. I want to go to Boston, and the only way I can do that is for this number to gradually get better, so I’m targeting it specifically. My average pace for the entire 3 months was just under 8:39, which is a huge achievement to me because I ran 60% more miles. Traditionally for me (and I think for most people), when you add miles, your time slows a little – mine got faster (significantly, actually – I think my average for the year last year was in the 8:50s range). I’m super duper proud of this number and I hope to drop it closer to the magical 8:30 space soon, but with the summer months (and hotter running conditions) ahead, it’ll be tough to keep this pace in the 2nd and 3rd quarters of the year.
  • Number of activities: I’m only counting run activities in this statistic. There were a couple of runs that didn’t get measured or counted or that I did as “other” because it wasn’t a “training” run (i.e.: chasing my kid on a bike and he wanted to know how far we went… that’s my boy) so this number may seem low: 53 total over 3 months averages to just over 17 a month, and just over 4 a week. I did have some weeks where I might have done double runs or had an extra run (for a race or something). The plan I followed specifically had 4 runs a week all 16 weeks, so I stuck pretty close to that and 4-5 runs a week is still manageable. We’ll see once I start on the 3:30 plan which is 5 runs a week.

Not bad. I’d like to keep up this level of training once I recover from the marathon. I am chomping at the bit to start running again, but I know I have to be patient and let my body heal. I am planning a run on Saturday (4/19) and Monday (4/21) of this week to see how the recovery is going. If all is going well after Monday’s run, I’ll plan to start doing some more regular, shorter runs Wednesday and Friday of next week and gradually add mileage and speed to one run a week, keeping the other three easy until I’ve hit the 4 week mark.

That’ll do it for now. Have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

