Portland Marathon Training: Week 1

Hello My Friends!

The first week of marathon training in preparation for the Portland Marathon is done! 23 miles total this week, which is ok, though, because I had a cumulative pace of (ahem) 8:21 across all four runs this week. However… I am beginning to crave the higher mileage. Because of the Hatfield-McCoy Marathon (first half), I ended up with 35 miles last week, so this week’s 23 was a step back for me. In some ways, it was welcome, but in some ways I really wanted to add another run in. I kept it check – at least so far as distance. I did go a bit faster than I should have, probably. However, since three of the four were on the treadmill (and therefore flat), I thought faster would be OK. Plus… I can’t really help myself on the treadmill. Thankfully, these faster runs were actually comfortable and, today’s run, I actually pushed things a little. My philosophy being: if I don’t push a tiny bit, I won’t get faster. So, let’s look at this week:

  • Sunday, 06/15/2014 – On Plan – rest day: took this rest day seriously… Not much going on – just resting and recovering from running down Blackberry Mountain the day before. A lot of stretching and rehydrating.
  • Monday, 06/16/2014 – On Plan – 5 miles: I was able to get up early and I didn’t get the boys until that night, so I decided to run through my neighborhood. It was tough to “go slow” and, to my delight, I actually had a total negative split – my first in a very, very long time! Oh why can’t I do that in a race?? I ended up with about an 8:24 average and 5.27 miles.
  • Tuesday 06/17/2014 – On Plan: rest day – did nothing but work and go shopping with the boys after work on this day!
  • Wednesday, 06/18/2014 – On Plan – 5+: Did this one on my home treadmill before work. Actually, the kids had a dentist appointment, so I had plenty of time to get a quality run in before the appointment. I still would have liked to have been able to get up earlier, but I still had time. I did two sets of what I call 1-2-3-4-5 ladders. So, for this workout, I start at a comfortable pace (in this case, I started at 6.8) and spend 1 minute there. Then, I increase to the next pace (6.9) and spent two minutes there; then three minutes at 7.0, and four at 7.1 and finally five at 7.2. That takes 15 minutes. I then go back to 6.9 and start over with the time – spending 1 minute at 6.9, 2 minutes at 7.0 and so on until I get to five minutes (7.3). I keep doing this until I got to 5 miles, and then I did the two “strides” at the end. I did them for 30 seconds (instead of 20) and I took only 1 minute as rest (instead of 2). I did both of the strides at 8.0 (which is about a 7:30 pace) and the rest at around 7.2. Eventually, I would like to be able to do this workout starting at 7.0. I’m getting there – I used to start these at 6.5, so I am making progress 🙂 Also, the 8.0 intervals for thirty seconds was not as difficult as it used to be, so I’m glad I pushed a little there.
  • Thursday, 6/19/2014 – On Plan – Rest day: rested as prescribed 🙂
  • Friday, 06/20/2014 – On Plan – 4+ (with three 0:20 strides and 2:00 rests): Like Wednesday, I did the ladders until I got to 4 miles, and did the strides for 30 seconds at 8.0 and 1 min of rest between at 7.2. Also, did 2 sets of my ab routine because I’ve been talking about it and, well, it did help, so I need to keep up with it.
  • Saturday, 06/21/2014 – On Plan – 8 miles at target pace of 8:40-9:10: Like Wednesday and Friday, I did the ladders until I got to 8 miles – though – at the end of the 15 minutes, I did 1-min each of the paces above what I did for the ladder. For example, for the first one, I did one min each at 7.4, 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, and 7.8, *then* started over. I did have to stop the treadmill to drink gatorade and catch my breath a couple of times, but I did finish it. At the end I thought “damn, I feel like crap” until I realized I had an overall average of 8:19, which is inside the target pace for the 3:3o plan. woah. So, totally not prepared for 3:30 pace, but it is encouraging that I hit that target for this distance. After the run, though, in an effort to set myself up for a more restful Sunday, I walked into town with my kids for a Pig Festival (about .75 mile each way, plus the walking around in the festival), mowed the grass in my front yard, and then did one more set of the ab routine. My entire torso is pretty sore today, so I’ll take today off from abs, but I’m glad I did another set at night.

Here is the training plan for next week:

  • Sun: rest (stretch)
  • Mon: 5 (abs)
  • Tue: rest (stretch)
  • Wed: 6 mi tempo with 8:30 target pace (abs)
  • Thu: rest (stretch)
  • Fri: 5 (abs)
  • Sat: 10 (abs)

Hope you all have a great week!

Leave a Reply

