A Shiny New PR… and other news

Good evening, Friends –

It has been a busy few weeks since I got my computer back and I owe you FOUR race reports:

  • Midtown 13.1 Race in Raleigh NC on 9/20 – which was hot, but an awesome event and one I highly recommend
  • The Portland (OR) Marathon on 10/5 – to be clear: there happened to be a marathon in both Portlands that weekend, so I needed to clarify. Unfortunately, this one was not quite what I wanted or expected, but I learned a lot that I hope to take with me going forward.
  • The Oktoberfest 8k in Raleigh on 10/18 – where I *FINALLY* broke my 8k PR – you may recall I was somewhat frustrated about the fact that this same race in March (they do it twice a year: once for St. Patrick’s day and once for Oktoberfest) was my slowest 8k ever, and all of them had been slower than the last… so I did not have any expectations other than “beat the spring time”.
  • and finally from the City of Oaks Rex Healthcare Half Marathon from 11/2 where I broke my year old PR quite substantially (by over 2 min). It, by the way, was also a pretty awesome race as I always knew it would be…

Plus… I am lining up my race schedule for the first half of 2015 and so far I’ve registered for three that I’m absolutely doing:

  • Tobacco Road Full – I did the half this past spring and loved the event, so I thought that I might have a better chance of cooler (read: less than 75 degrees at finish) weather at the critical mile 18 if I did it in March when, typically here, it is kind of chilly. Fingers are officially crossed and training starts the week of Thanksgiving.
  • The New Jersey Marathon Half – I have family in the Long Branch/Monmouth area and I’ve been promising them for a while that I’d come up for a visit and bring my kids – so I’m happy it worked out this way for 2015. Plus, it is just over 4 weeks after my full, so it fits perfectly.
  • Boston’s Run to Remember Half – I’ve also been promising to do this race for a few years and the rate was going to go up soon so I decided to pull the trigger. I’m really looking forward to this race as I absolutely love Boston. I can’t afford to stay long, but I plan to make the most of the time I get there 🙂

I have a couple of others sitting in the corners of my mind that I need to look in to more and make sure I have the money for them – including one in mid-January as a training run. If I can afford it, I’m going to do it.

I hope to start on those race reports this week – before I do my last race of the year on Thanksgiving!

Have a great weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

